Multiple Routines using Maestro

I am new to the maestro, and I am creating a DJ robot that in theory would run multiple pre-programmed routines when buttons are pressed. I know you can record a set of frames on the maestro and make it a show, but can you record multiple shows?

Hello.

It sounds like you are talking about making your shows using the Maestro’s sequencer and then starting them with buttons connected to the Maestro. You can create multiple sequences (your shows) in the “Sequence” tab of the Maestro Control Center software, and you could select and run each sequence from there. However, if you want to be able to start your scripts with something other than the Maestro Control Center, you will need to do some scripting.

Start by deleting any existing script you have in the “Script” tab, then clicking the “Copy all Sequences to Script” button in the “Sequence” tab. Doing this will set up the script with each of your sequences in its own subroutine, so then you just need to add the logic for when to call them.

You can learn more about how scripting on the Maestro works in “The Maestro Scripting Language” section of the Maestro user’s guide. I especially recommend looking through the “Using a button or switch to control servos” and “Using multiple buttons or switches to control servos” examples in the “Example Scripts” sub-section. Also, it would probably be good for you to look over the button/switch wiring example in the “Attaching Servos and Peripherals” section before you start connecting buttons to the Maestro.

If you have trouble triggering sequences with your script, please post a copy of your Maestro settings file, and we might be able to help. You can save a copy of your Maestro settings file from the “File” drop-down menu of the Maestro Control Center.

- Patrick