Multi Robot system with wireless and camera using Zumos

Hi,

I’m trying to build a multi robot system that has some basic properties. I want each of them to avoid collisions, and move randomly. I would like them for them to have wireless for communication and a camera on board.

I bought the zumo robot at this link : https://www.pololu.com/product/3126, and I got them the basic programs working, and now I want extend it. I’m fairly new to Arduinos, and I’m wondering. Can I just plug in a wireless and a camera on this board? If so, what parts would be appropriate?

On a side note, I’d like to do some heavy image processing on this board based on the camera feed. Am I too ambitious in trying to do that on this board? I know I can offload it to a separate computer, but it would be great to be able to do it on board.

Thanks in advance.

Hello.

It sounds like you have not done much research into this yet. In general, this is something that would be rather hard and, if you do not have experience optimizing code in assembly language to fit in a tiny amount of memory, I do not think you would have much success running any sort of image processing on the ATmega32U4 microcontroller on the board.

There are a few projects around to do image recognition. I have seen a demonstration of the CMUcam5 Pixy doing simple image recognition of a colored object against a contrasting background. There is also an OpenCV software package that can run on the RaspberryPi. If you are patient and willing to do the work to put a lot of little pieces together, it might be possible to do a project like that but, like many things worth doing, it probably will not be easy.

-Nathan

Nathan,