Motor stall current vs motor driver's peak output current

Hello,

I am very new to robotics and electronics in general, and I am doing a robotics project, which is basically a two-wheeled robot. Due to circumstances beyond my control I am using a certain motor driver: A3950. Its datasheet says, in particular, that:

• A3950 is capable of peak output currents to ±2.8A.
  • Driver features overcurrent protection.

Now I would really like to use the Pololo 19:1 37Dx52L motor with this driver.
However, the motor spec states that its stall current is 5A. I am wondering, much of a problem may this stall current turn out to be for the selected driver.

In particular, I would be grateful if someone could help me with the following questions.

1. Do I understand correctly, that “stall current = 5A” means that, unless current is limited, there will certainly be a 5A current spike when the motor is started.
  2. Is this spike short enough (assuming the motor will propel a 2kg robot) to be unnoticeable?
  3. Do I understand correctly that if I change the polarity in order to use the motor for braking, this will also lead to stall torque conditions and, consequently, 5A current?
  4. Is it true that I can always limit the current by simply carefully programming the appropriate PWM signals at both startup and braking?
  5. In general, are there some other useful things I might have to know in this setting? Just a link describing similar situation would be helpful, as my googling skills failed me on that.

Thank you!

Hello.

I don’t think that driver will handle this motor very well. I did not see any rating besides the 2.8A peak; many drivers have continuous current ratings of less than half the peak. Judging by the on-resistance, I don’t think you should count on getting more than about 1.5A out of this driver. Also, the over-current detection can trip as low as 3A, which could be quite annoying to deal with.

Here are answers to your questions:

1. Pretty much.