MiniMaestro12 controls LandingGear of a C-123, 1:12 scale

Hi friends of Pololu Robotics & Electronics,
I would like to introduce myself briefly. My name is Lars, I am from Berlin, Germany and I have been building RC model airplanes for over 50 years.

Over the decades, the construction of my model airplanes has remained virtually the same, I love it and build primarily from wood, but the technologies and tools have changed. These days I develop models entirely in 3D with Fusion360, use among many other tools, 3D printers and a Stepcraft 3-axis milling machine to create parts.

Especially with remote control technology a lot has changed. Everything can be programmed and mixed and I love the philosophy of Jeti a manufacturer of remote control systems and other electronic components.

In my new project, a C-123 Provider, in scale 1:12, which I have been working on for 2 years, a Pololu Mini Maestro 12 servo Controller is used for the first time. This device should control the landing gear and Pololu support, who I recently had contact with, thought it would be a good idea to present this project here.

The picture shows the status 3 months ago (a lot has happened in the meantime):

If anyone is interested in the history, there are 3 videos on YouTube of the machine. One video is about the design, another one shows the construction of the nose gear and the complicated gear doors and a longer clip documents the construction.

The first Rollout will be in April this year and it is scheduled to make also its maiden flight this year … but to do that, the retractable gear is supposed to retract and also extend by a switch on the remote control and the Pololu has to choreograph all the flaps and the landing gear itself correctly. I am currently working on this complex task.

If anyone is interested, he can read the build diary on RCScalebuilder.com, where I blog extensively about this machine.