Making one Maestro control another

Hello,

…and yes I’m a newbie.

I have been trying to get a Maestro 24 set to all inputs to control another Maestro 24 set to all servos.
The basic idea is to have pots or 3 position switches on all the inputs of one Maestro connected through a wireless UART to control another Maestro with all servos. Hopefully with little lag time. This would make a nice addition to my RC transmitter and receiver that has UART’s built in.

I have been able to get the two boards talking with your Serial Output Example Script through wire but it doesn’t tell me much. The example only sends a command to move one servo back and forth. I need to move all 24 based on the positions of the pots and switches on another board. I tried inserting get_position commands in the script but with no luck.

Is there an easy way to do this? Can you point me to other examples? Making the electrical connections is not a problem. it’s the programming that is twisting my brain.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Leonard

Hello, Leonard.

I am sorry you are having problems with your Maestro script. We do not have any examples that do specifically what you mentioned, but you might look at the “Using an analog input to control servos” and “Serial output” examples in the “Example Scripts” section of the Maestro controller’s user’s guide. Understanding those scripts should help you make a script that takes analog inputs and converts them to MiniSSC serial commands. However, please note that only channels 0-11 are capable of being analog inputs; channels 12 and up are digital. Since you are new to the Maestro’s scripting language, I would recommend starting with only one input controlling one servo and building up to more. Also, using the blue “Step Script” button at the bottom of the “Script” tab of the Maestro Control Center is a great way to move through the script at your own pace or troubleshoot potential problems.