Make Simple Hexapod Walker work longer

Dear Forum members,
This is my first time dealing with robotics related project, and I want to implement the Hexapod Walker project - https://www.pololu.com/docs/0J42. Despite my lack of experience,I know some programming and the Hexapod Walker project seems not too hard to start with. All that to say, that my question may seem basic. I want to make the Hexapod Walker work much longer, let say for at least an hour for exhibition purposes.
So one way that I thought of ,is if you plug it the USB of the servo controller to a computer or wall outlet as the power source, will that work?
Another solution that I thought of is, to program the robot so it will work for 5 seconds every one minute, so it will work for one hour or so without switching the battery pack. Will that be possible?
I want the robot to work actually for three hours, but If would need to change batteries 3 times during that time, or just plug it off to give it a rest, then it will be fine as well.
Many thanks

Hello,

Thank you for your interest in our Hexapod project. You will not be able to power servos connected to the Maestro with the USB. Instead you could connect the servo power to a DC barrel jack. Then you could power the servos with a wall adapter.

You can also program the Maestro so that the servos are only powered for short intervals by enabling or disabling the servos. Once you get basic code for your hexapod working, the Maestro User’s Guide will be helpful for figuring out how to do that.

A third option is to scale up the battery so that you can power your hexapod longer. The battery pack we recommend for that project has been discontinued. The nearest alternative that we offer is a 2/3-AAA cell pack, but you might also consider using a 2s Li-Po battery with a 5V regulator. Since you are new to robotics, this blog post might be helpful for learning about batteries and how choose one for your project.

-Patrick

Hey Patrick,