Magnetic braking

Hi everyone, I have a maestro 12 channel controller, setup to use in my Ironman helmet, along with a hitek 645mg servo.

Basically what I’m trying to do is get some kind of braking system on here so that when the face plate of my helmet goes up it stops buzzing. Its buzzing cuz it’s trying to hold the face plate up, which isnt that heavy. I’m wondering if someone know’s how to rig up a magnetic breaking system that wouldn’t require opening the servo and soldering, I’m not really good with that and I’m kind of a beginner when it comes to this stuff. So when I read the descriptions to relays and all that I feel like my heads going to explode.

Is there a way to go from maestro --> relay --> servo?

Hello,

I’m not sure I understand the braking system you have in mind; could you elaborate on it? Do you have an example of a similar system somewhere?

One alternative you might consider is switching to a stronger servo. I used some 1501MGs in an Iron Man helmet; it looks like they have about twice as much torque as the HS-645MG. I didn’t really have a problem with the servos straining or buzzing, though your results might depend on how your helmet is built and how heavy your faceplate is.

- Kevin

Hi Kevin thanks for the reply! There’s a guy from England that did this kind of breaking system but he added resistors or capacitors to a breadboard, and then re wires and soldered wires inside the servo.

There’s a video of how he does it, I’m wondering if pololu already has something like this but maybe in an easier more plug and play version. Mainly the parts where I get confused in the video are…
1, When I open my servo I don’t have a black and red wire, it’s orange and brown. I don’t know which one is ground or power.
2, I don’t know how anything about resistors or capacitors or how to wire them to a breadboard like he does in the video.

This looks like a relay he used in the video pololu.com/product/2804