Maestro - want Get max and min position

Hi

Ive been using the pololu 6 servo driver for many years and the last few using the maestro 6 in my camera mount system to run 2 CR servos and 2 STD ones

One issue has always been the fact I have to re-map the servo ranges in my software to the joystick ranges.
No big deal however over the years there are so many servos with slight variations that I have to use averages to cover most and this costs range as well as lags at end points.

It drives servos to mechanical limits to get about 180 degree and find the 7bit range fine enough to give good resolution but if the range in software is not exactly the same as the range the servo handles then the software sends position above what the servos handles.

Not a problem because I have the absolute limits saved in maestro board so it doesn’t over drive the servo but the software does scale past the stored end point and it has to come back which causes some delay just at the end point, this being because servos vary a bit even though Ive used the same brand and model servo for many years.

The other side of the coin as that if the software range is a bit lower then the servo limit set in maestro then the servos never reaches full range.

It’s been a minor issue up till now with new servos I got a box of vary slightly in end points to previous ones so now the maestro settings are a little more off the 2 above issues are even worse and noticeable.

Problem is a cant just change the range values in software to suit new servos because the software has to work for all older units over years as well and Ill have to have version for each servo types.
Older owners loose their software and then need to dload a copy so I need to be able to stick to the same version for all owners.