Looking for a Wixel app template

I’m just getting started with a pair of Wixels – What a great product! Really impressed by the effort that was clearly put into making it a ready-to-use product.

I was wondering if anyone had a standalone template for a Wixel app with a makefile and any other “template” files required. So far, I’ve based my app on one of the examples, but it seems odd that the only way provided by the docs to build an app is to put it in the apps directory and run “make” on the top-level Wixel SDK dir. Is there a reason the docs don’t give an example of just building a single app?

Among other things, the current setup makes it hard to keep Wixel app source files well-organized in a folder with other project files (board CAD files, notes, source for other micros used in the project, etc.).

Before I go and try to make a standalone makefile, has anyone already done this?

Thanks!

Hello, Jordan.

I’m glad that you like the Wixel!

I don’t know of anyone who has made a template for a standalone Wixel application, so you would probably be the first.

The wixel-sdk only takes a matter of seconds to compile and occupies about 31 MB after all the apps, libraries, and documentation have been compiled, so what you could do is keep a separate clone of the wixel-sdk in each of your project folders. The advantage of this system is that you would not have to maintain a Makefile for each app and you automatically have control/oversight over which exact versions of the libraries your app uses.

If you don’t like doing it this way, then that’s OK. To help you create your Makefile, you can run “make example_blink_led VERBOSE=yes” which will show exactly how the wixel-sdk Makefile invokes the compiler and linker and how it creates the wxl file.

I’d be very interested to hear what you end up building with the Wixel!

–David