LED Pod Strobe Flasher

Jeremy from Pololu suggested I join up and post this up so here it goes!

First off, I am relatively new to coding. I am an avionics guy by trade and understand board level components, but had not touched a micro-controller up until a few months ago when I was assigned as part of a design team to develop a smart battery charger/tester for emergency light batteries on an aircraft. Our design was using an Arduino Mega. That set me off into the “self education” mode. So that being said, I have been trying to apply some of what I am learning to something a little more fun.

I am working on a flasher that will control multiple strobe pods. My second job includes sales and installation of off road vehicle accessories so I want to do something useful for safety lights for off road trucks. What I have running so far is pretty simple. It’s strobing two 18W LED PODS. I’m using the Arduino to fire two TIP32’s to control the strobes. I admit that I had to grab the initial code from James at CMIYC because I am having some difficulty grasping the milis() function.

Future plans that I want to develop include adding two to four more outputs, having selectable modes from continuous on, to a chasing pattern that would fire the strobes sequentially, and a separate project that would control just a single light bar. (Higher amp draw so looking at doing that with a STP40NF10L MOSFET. I’ll also be moving this to the 32U4 so I can make the final package much smaller.

Feel free to offer up any suggestions, criticism, etc.

Here is a quick video of what I have thus far:
https://flic.kr/p/qoctQQ

And the code that I used to get started: