Learning limit switches

First and foremost, I am a newbie. I have enjoyed reading the resources listed and the grey matter between my ears and starting to “get” some of it :slight_smile:

One project I am working on is a linear actuator type lifter. I am using some Vex pieces that I am told will work with standard motor controllers. Essentially I have the motor, motor bracket, rack and pinion. Simply put, I would like the motor and bracket assembly to rise to set position by the limit switch and stop. Then, reverse polarity and it descend to the lower limit switch position. Just like the Firgelli linear actuators I have for other portions of my robot build.

The reason for the rack and pinion is it will fit inside the enclosure I have where as the smallest linear actuator will not.

I would like to control that up and down command via the motor controller, say a Dimension Engineering Syren or the devices available here (I happen to have two of the Syrens)

Having never played with limit switches but having read as much as I could find on various searches, I am intrigued what is needed to make this work.

Thanks in advance for suggestions and teaching a new guy!

Hello.

I have no experience with the Syrens, so I do not know if they are designed to accept limit-switch inputs directly. One solution is to use the limit switches to directly control power to the motor. You can do this with two normally closed, or NC, switches (one for each end of motion), each with a diode in parallel oriented so that the switch only disables motor operation in the direction that would break something. Can you picture this, or do you need me to draw up a quick schematic? For this solution, you need switches and diodes that are capable of carrying the full motor current. I’m pretty sure this is how the linear actuators we sell work.