L3GD20 not working with TI Digital Signal Processor

Hello all;

I am working on this sensor since some time but as I am new to this field of work, I am facing some problems in running this sensor.

Can anyone guide me on this? I have got the driver and header files from the supplier. I am using a TI Digital Signal Processor.

Please help me in this regard. Thanks for your time. Your help and support is appreciated.

Regards,
Irfan.

Hi, Irfan.

I am sorry you are having problems. Could you please be more specific about what problems you are having?

-Derrill

Hi Derrill sir,

Firstly, thank you for your quick response.

To start with, I have to test this sensor for space applications. So, I have an Digital Signal Processor (DSP-from Texas Instruments-starter kit TMS VERSION) With me for testing these kind of sensors. I have the example codes from the DSP as well as the ST company offered a set of codes as the sensor drivers (one is a header file and other is the main source driver code).

I am very much new to these kind of electronics. I am confused and actually not understanding how exactly I can join these codes and get some signals out of this sensor. I need a guidance in how exactly can I start off to achieve the proper working of this sensor.

Please help me in this regard.

Regards,
Irfan.

You are clearly in way, way over your head. My suggestions would be to:

1. read the data sheet for the L3GD20 very carefully, also making sure that you understand how I2C communications work.

2. buy an Arduino and use the sample code that Pololu provides to get going. From their description of the device:

1. Before you move on to the TI DSP, make sure that you understand what every line in the Pololu example code does, and what the equivalent for the TI processor would be.

PS: Space applications? Any chance you are working for Kim Jong-un?

Hi john,

Thank you for your advise. I have noted the contents properly. But I have to make it for SPI mode.