JRK21v3 Motor Output Voltage

Hi all,

I’m new to this forum, and the JRK motor controllers. But I’m a electrician and instrument technician by trade, so I understand this stuff pretty well. I’m just a bit confused with the JRK output.

I have recently purchased a JRK21v3, which I am using to control a 12VDC wiper motor as a servo.

I have connected a 5K pot to the feedback pin, and another 5K pot as an input controller and all seems to be working well. I can control the Setpoint and Process Value with the pots, scale the feedback, drive the motor forward and reverse etc etc.

My question is, why are my Motor output pins only putting out around 4V, even though my supply voltage to the JRK is 11.1V

To my understanding, the JRK has a 5V regulator built in for the system to function, but am I wrong in assuming that the motor output should be equal to the supply voltage?

My 12v wiper motor connected across Motor A and B is working, but it’s moving very slow and lacking the power it has when connected directly to 12VDC.

When I disconnect the motor and measure the terminal voltage, (when the set point and feedback are different, so it’s trying to drive the motor, of course) I’m only getting around 4v.

How can I get a full 11.1v out of my motor terminals?

Regards,

Cory

Hello, Cory.

I am sorry you are having problems with your jrk 21v3. The motor outputs from the jrk should be a PWM signal from 0V to VIN. There are several things that could be causing the behavior your are describing. You might start by checking the “Max. duty cycle” setting under the “Motor” tab of the Jrk Configuration utility to see if it is limiting the duty cycle (e.g. if it is set to something less than 600).