It seems so simple

Hello,

I’m really new to all of this and after several hours of searching multiple internet sites, I still can’t find a straight answer to a question I have, so I’m hoping somebody here can give me a simple yes or no.

The Project: My wife wants a “sunrise” alarm clock. The kind that slowly raise the light level over a period of time in the morning. She could simply buy one, but what’s the fun in that? Also, the only one she was able to see in person was unimpressive. I’m fairly certain that I can build one that will be superior in function - even if the aesthetics are somewhat less appealing. She’s willing to live with the trade-off.

The Problem: I have no programming skills whatsoever. None. Nada. Zip. If I did, I assume I’d have understood more of what I was looking at and would probably not be here asking any questions. I’ve ordered a couple beginner books to learn a little more about robotics in general, but I still doubt that I’ll be ready to program anything in the very near future. Fortunately, I think I’ve come up with a way to mechanically overcome my lack of programming ability so I can slowly raise the light level over a set period of time.