Is my voltage regulator dead?

Hello,

I am using a 12V, 1A Pololu Step-Down Voltage Regulator D24V10F12 with my 6S drone to step-down the voltage for the DJI Air Unit. It worked well for about an hour but now appears to be dead. I have measured ~24v in as expected but now 0v out.

It worked long enough for me to update firmware of the Air Unit/goggles and link it to the goggles. I flew it about a foot up and landed softly as a test flight, but upon landing I lost VTX. That’s when I noticed the Air Unit had lost power.

I’ve checked the connections and they are all good. Flight Controller to the regulator reads 24v (on both FC out and regulator voltage in). Even if there was a connection issue with the output wire I would still expect a voltage reading from the voltage out pin (yes?), however it reads 0v.

Is my board toast (I’ve ordered some more anyways), and is there some trouble shooting I can do? I’m new to this so thanks for your understanding and advice!

Cheers!

Hello.

Can you post some pictures that show the board, its solder connections, and how it is mounted on your drone? Is there anything besides the DJI Air Unit that is being powered from the regulator?

- Patrick

Nothing else is powering the board EDIT: Only the DJI Air Unit is powered by the Regulator. All connections look good, although I’m new to this so who knows.

Thank you for your response!

I am not sure what you mean by “Nothing else is powering the board”. Which board are you talking about? Can you clarify how everything on your drone is being powered (maybe by drawing a power schematic)?

Also, do you know what the material is that your regulator is mounted on? What you are using between the regulator and the plate to hold them together? I am concerned that might be causing, or could have caused, something to short and damage the regulator.

- Patrick

Apologies for the confusion! I meant to say nothing else is being powered by the regulator.