I'm a complete beginner in need of help please!

Hello, I need help with programing the servo I have for a project where I would like it to move 90 degrees from the press of a button and then move back to its original position at the press of the same button. I have no idea how to program this. I have checked many videos online and checked forums and cannot seem to find the answer. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hello.

You cannot program a standard servo to read a button and go to different positions by itself; you will need some kind of separate microcontroller or control board to do that. Are you already using a specific device, like one of our Maestro Servo Controllers, or are you looking for recommendations for a device?

Brandon

Hello thanks for the reply. Sorry I should have mentioned I have a Micro Maestro 6-Channel USB Servo Controller. I have connected the board to the power and the servo, and from the computer I can move the servo backwards and forwards to the positions I need. The problem I have is I’m not sure how to program it so that it will work disconnected from the computer moving 45 degrees one way then with the press of a button move back again. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you for the additional information. Getting the servo powered and working through the “Status” tab of the Maestro Control Center is a good start. Next, you can choose a Maestro channel to use for your button input and configure it as an “Input” in the “Channel Settings” tab. Once it is configured, you can connect your button with a pull-up resistor, as shown in the “Attaching Servos and Peripherals” section of the Maestro user’s guide. When the button is connected, you can test it by looking at the associated slider for that channel in the “Status” tab; you should see it move from one side to the other when you press the button.