How to use an RC controller on Pololu 12 Channel Controller

Hi, I am completely new to using the Pololu servo controller and I need this for a competition, Basically I am building a robot for a search and rescue operation and I have two problems the most important one is finding the easiset way to control the 12-channel servo controller from a long distance assuming that some sort of RC method would be the easiest, the least important being getting two servo controllers to communicate with each other in a master slave configuration. any help will be very much appreciated

Hello.

The Maestro Servo Controllers have no way of measuring the RC pulses from your receiver. To control the Maestro from RC you would have to use some other piece of hardware to actually read the RC pulses and convert to something that the Maestro can use. One option would be the Pololu RC Switch with Digital Output.

Why do you want two 12-channel servo controllers in a master-slave configuration? You can accomplish that by writing an internal script on the master Maestro and using the serial_send_byte command to send commands to the other Maestro, but it might be easier to use one Mini Maestro 24-Channel USB Servo Controller.

–David

Correction, its two 18 channel controllers designed to control 28 servos and sensors, the design is rather complicated and ambitious, but if anything it’s a learning experience. The Idea behind the master slave configuration was that I could use one servo which would have the Sensors, RC receiver. I want the robot to be able to make use of that information as well as respond to remote control signals. Controller 1 would then send the relevant information to control the specified servos on controller 2, that is possible right ? I have literally. had little say in the design process otherwise I would not be struggling so much getting to grips with this equipment.

Yes, that should be possible.

–David