How to control a micro gearmotor 998 with an RC receiver

Hello all,
I have some knowledge in electronic, but I’m really a newbie in “robotics” :slight_smile:
I’m looking to replace the air thrustors of an RC plane retractable landing gear by a micro gearmotor/controller.
This video will help you in understanding what i’m trying to do :slight_smile:

The purpose of my modification is to connect a threaded rod to the 50:1 micro gearmotor, which will actuate the gear.

Also, i really don’t know which driver i need to buy to :

• drive the motor gear on the both ways (extend and retract)
  • control the driver via my rc reveiver
  • get “endstop” with no endstop switch. maybe the gearmotor current is the way to go to get a really easy system?

As for the video it seems the way to go is with a Dual MC33887 Motor Driver Carrier #712 but it is no longer available… Then please help me :slight_smile:

It’s not a problem for me if there is something to program or adjust :slight_smile:
Thanks a lot for your advises

I forgot to mention,

My RC reveiver is powered with 6volts receiver battery, but i would like to have a dedicate battery for the gearmotors power, like a 2s Lifepo4 (6.6v) or 2s Lipo (7.4v) battery

So my question is : is it possible to have the “control” part powered by the receiver, and the power of the gearmotors connected on a different battery ?

Thanks again

Manu

Maybe this video can help as well :

Thanks again
Manu

Hello.

The replacement for the dual MC33887 motor driver (#712) is the dual MC33926 motor driver.

However, if you want something you can control with an RC receiver, I suggest you consider our Simple Motor Controller 18v7. The user’s guide is available from the product page resources tab, and I think it will answer your questions. If not, please ask.

- Ben

Hello Ben
Thanks a lot for your answer :slight_smile: