Hey, I am just getting started

Hey

I bought this thing a year ago, but I could never figure out how to get it working.

I am a mechanical engineering student, and have taken a class where a professor talked about PID line following, which was what got me interested in this and starting out, but i don’t have any experience with micro-controllers.

Here is where I think I am stuck. I am not really sure what is going on as each manual I find tells me to download and install things, so I am finding myself quite confused.

I downloaded this, but I don’t know which of these options the 3pi corresponds to.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Hello.

If you’re just trying to get started, I strongly recommend that you use the AVR Studio project examples included with the Pololu AVR library rather than trying to create your own project. The example projects are already configured to work on the 3pi, so you can jump right into testing and modifying the code. Have you followed the instructions from the “Programming Your 3pi” section of the user’s guide? Specifically, section 6.b walks you through compiling and running the simple-test example program. Once you have this working, I suggest you move on to trying other examples included with the library, and from there I suggest you move on to modifying copies of the example projects. Please let us know if you have any trouble with this.

- Ben

Hey. Thanks for your response to my post.

I got the simple test program working and downloaded it onto my 3PI, and modified it to slow down the LED’s so I see that I can modify the program.
I had another question but I worked it out a few minutes after posting it. I don’t think I’ll be sleeping much tonight.

What kinds of things have you done with your 3PI?
I want to build up to making a line follower from scratch.