Helps needed regarding readings from LSM303DLM Accelerometer

Hello,

I am relatively new to the Arduino platform and has never used an accelerometer before. I got the “obsolete” LSM303DLM 3D Compass and Accelerometer Carrier board from Pololu for a project that needs acceleration measurements. I have some questions regarding the readings from the LSM303DLM chip on Arduino.
_Using the Arduino Uno board and Pololu’s Serial Arduino sketch, with the board/IC chip placed upright, I got positive values for acceleration along the Z-axis (the board and the chip datasheet indicate positive Z as going up) and negative values when the board is upside down . When I tilted the board so that the chip’s positive X-axis aligned with gravity (straight down), I also got negative acceleration readings along X. The same thing happened along Y-direction as well. Basically, for some reasons, all my gravitational acceleration readings have opposite directions of what they are supposed to be! Could there be something wrong with the chip/sketch? (I did not modify the original sketch)
_Secondly, I am trying to convert the acceleration serial readings into g’s and according the instructions from http://www.instructables.com/id/Accelerometer-Gyro-Tutorial/step1/The-Accelerometer/, I need the zero-g voltage and linear acceleration sensitivity of the chip. However, the datasheet for the LSM303DLM does not explicitly state these values (at least none that I could find). Does anyone have these values handy that they could share? :smiley:

Any helps are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
John

The accelerometer measures the difference in acceleration between the actual sensor (which can be thought of as a mass suspended from a spring) and the package containing the sensor. When the package is sitting on the table, the Earth’s gravity applies 1 g downward on everything, including the sensor, while the table pushes up with 1 g on the package. Perhaps that will help you to think about the signs.