Help with the Pololu Library

Hello :slight_smile:

First of all, I’m an absolute beginner. Sorry for that. I bought the polulu neopixel ring with 60 LEDs. Now, I want it to interact with a scale (HX711), in a way that the percentage of the ring lits up when weight is added (e.g. when the finally desired weight is 200 grams, half the ring is lit when 100 grams are on the scale. Ideally, it also changes colour whilst doing so ( from pink/red over orange/yellow to green). I’m working on the code since quite some time (my first time with C++), but I’m struggling with the led ring. I am confused with the libraries for adafruit and polulu. I think I managed some of the code for the adafruit library, but I just don’t get it working at all on the polulu. Can you help me with that transfer? That would be great!

My code is the following:

Ring_attempt.ino (8.0 KB)

Hello.

Just to be clear, the NeoPixel is made by Adafruit, not Pololu.

It sounds like you are trying to use the Adafruit NeoPixel library and our Arduino PololuLedStrip library together in your code. If that is the case, you should only need to use one, not both. Our library is an alternative option to the Adafruit NeoPixel library. Is there a good reason why you want to use both?

By the way, since there seems to be a lot of different features you want to implement in your project, I strongly recommend focusing on getting one behavior down (e.g. showing the weight correctly on the NeoPixel ring regardless of what color) before adding more features.

- Amanda

Dear Amanda,

I am sorry, I just read through my entry and realised how confusing and unprofessional it was. I’ve been working for hours and couldn’t concentrate properly. Feel free to delete my form entry, it is a bit embarassing to be honest. Sorry again.