FIRST Romi w/32U4 and powering GPIO

Does anyone have tips or tricks for powering the GPIO pins on this device.
It looks like I need to disconnect the GPIO board from the plastic chassis to solder on a pin to power those ports. There is a jumper here but it’s not connected to anything. (We want to use them to run 3 servos and a distance sensor)

I’m new to this. What is the best practice here?

Hello.

Are you using the #4022 Romi Robot Kit for FIRST? If so, there are male header pins pre-installed in the expansion area on the front-left side of the robot, so you most likely do not need to remove the control board from the chassis.

You can reference the “Expansion areas” and “Pin assignments” sections of the Romi 32U4 user’s guide for more information about those pins. There is also some information in the “Adding electronics” section of the Romi 32U4 Control Board user’s guide, which is especially helpful if you want to disable or disconnect some features to free up more I/O pins.

If you have not seen it yet, I also recommend reading the “Controlling a servo” section. In short, the Arduino Servo library uses Timer 1, which conflicts with our Romi32U4Motors library. The information in that section shows how you can fix this conflict by modifying the Servo library to use Timer 3 instead.