Failing to program SVP1284

Hello all,

I just got an Orangutan SVP1284P fully assembled controller.
the demo worked just fine and I played with most of its features.
after installing winavr, avrstudio, etc. I tried to program the ledblink example.
at the stk500 in ISP mode, I keep getting “Entering programming mode…failed” for almost anything I try to do, though sometimes I manage to get an action done (rarely), but I never managed to get the programming done.
my guess is that its either a power supply issue (using wallwart transformator) or faulty processor (a stuck fuse or something).
It is my first attempt with AVR products (I’m used to MPLAB) so I’m quite clueless on how to proceed - any help would do.

best regards…

update:
I lowered the ISP freq. to 115.2 and now I am able to read the device signature and fuses once in a while, but still no luck programming.
I sometimes get this:
Getting isp parameter… SD=0x02 … OKOK
Reading FLASH input file… OK
Entering programming mode… OK!
Erasing device… FAILED!
Leaving programming mode… OK!
and sometimes this:
Getting isp parameter… SD=0x02 … OKOK
Reading FLASH input file… OK
Entering programming mode… OK!
Erasing device… OK!
Programming FLASH … FAILED!
Leaving programming mode… OK!

The whole thing is very unstable…
looking forward to hearing some advice.

thanks in advance for the help,
M.

I’m sorry that you are having problems. Have you ever successfully programmed it?

What kind of wallwart are you using? Do you have information about its specifications? Which pins are you using to power the SVP? A picture might be useful.

Have you connected anything to the SVP besides power and USB?

Which BlinkLED example are you using (please tell me exactly where you downloaded it from). If you used a BlinkLED example for the wrong processor you might have trouble.

What processor have you selected in the Main tab of the STK500 dialog box?

–David

Hello David,