Expert Advice!

Hi,
I am new to robotics but have been very interested for a long time now, I have decided to design and build my first robot, but as I am new need some advice with a few things!
The robot will be a small with a differential drive system, with obstacle avoidance from three sensors positioned on the left, right and front of the chassis, with these rules (I don’t know much about programming but think that this is a start?)

• If front sensor is activated, but side sensors aren’t, turn in either direction.
  • If front and either side sensors are activated, turn in the opposite direction to the activated sensor.
  • I only a side sensor is activated, do nothing.
  • If all three sensors are activated, stop.
    My questions are:
    Am I going about this the right way?
    If so which microcontroller and sensors would I use?
    How would I program it?
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
    Thank you

Hi Potato, and welcome to the world of robotics.

Unfortunately your first question, “Am I going about this the right way,” presupposes there is a “right way” to get started on a robot project. There are lots of mistakes you can make with any approach, but I’m a fan of diving right in, but you’ll have to see what works best for you.

Which microcontroller you’ll want to use will depend on a couple of things, but primarily what (if any) programming experience you have, and how much money you wish to spend. An Orangutan (the line of microcontrollers offered by Pololu) might be a good choice for a small diff-drive robot as they all include dual motor drivers. You will need a separate programmer, like the ones offered by Pololu or from Atmel, the microcontroller manufacturer. If you have less programming experience you might also consider an Arduino board or a Basic Stamp, which have a shallower learning curve, but will probably require external motor controlling electronics.