Disabling Baby Orangutan B-328 H-bridge Motor Drivers

Hello, I Just bought the Baby Orangutan B-328, I didn’t realize that 2 of the timers, and 4 of the PWM outputs were taken up by the dual H-bridge. Is there a way to disable the dual H-bridge motor controller, so that I can gain access to the timers and PWM outputs on PD5, PD6, PD3, and PB3? If this is possible, is it reversible so that I can regain access to the dual H-bridge? The reason I need to disable the dual H-bridge is because I am trying to learn programming in the Arduino environment. I need all the PWM outputs to make it comparable to the UNO. Don’t get me wrong, I love this little guy. I am just starting out with all of this and not having those PWM outputs is making it more difficult. I realize now that I should have just bought an Arduino UNO. Maybe that will be my next purchase from your website. Many thanks in advance.

Hello.

As long as you leave the motor driver outputs disconnected, you don’t need to disable the motor drivers to free up those AVR PWM outputs. However, with the exception of PB3, which is available via the programming header, those pins are not broken out on the Baby Orangutan, so accessing them is fairly difficult, especially if you are new to working with boards like this. I can show you where you might consider accessing them, but I recommend against it unless you are quite comfortable with surface-mount soldering.

If you don’t mind my asking, what do you want to use those additional PWM outputs for? It’s possible I can help you accomplish the same thing using our Pololu AVR libraries.

- Ben