Digital Input Trigger

I am new to microcontrollers and C programming. I am using an Orangutan SVP-1284 controller.

I have 2 external square wave sources, each around 30 Hz. I need to make two time measurements from them. First is just a simple frequency counter to display the frequency of each signal individually. This is basically just the time from the beginning of one pulse to the beginning of the next pulse. The second is to measure the phase shift between the two of them. Assuming I feed them into two of the Digital Inputs, say D2 and D3, I need to start a timer on the leading edge of one and stop the timer on the leading edge of the other. I’ve been though the Pololu documentation, but cannot find a way to trigger only when the pins first go high or low.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Kirk,

Take a look at the pulse library: pololu.com/docs/0J18/8 located in the Pololu AVR Library Command Reference guide. I have used this to measure pulse widths and frequency but not to measure phase. There is a structure member called lastPCTime which may help.

Mike

Hi Mike,

Yes, that is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you. I had looked at the Library command reference (pololu.com/docs/0J18) online, but immediately downloaded the pdf version from the link at the top of the page. Turns out the pdf and online versions are different and the pulse info is not in the pdf, no wonder I missed it.