Deciphering the sensor polling code

Hi,

I’m a beginner programmer trying to understand how some of the sensor polling is done.

From src\PololuQTRSensors\PololuQTRSensors.cpp:

# time = 0;  
# last_time = TCNT2;  
# while (time < _maxValue)  
# {  
#     // Keep track of the total time.  
#     // This implicity casts the difference to unsigned char, so  
#     // we don't add negative values.  
#     unsigned char delta_time = TCNT2 - last_time;  
#     time += delta_time;  
#     last_time += delta_time;   

when TCNT2 reaches 255, it’ll starting counting from 0 again right? Now, doing TCNT2 - last_time (which maybe be like 3 - 250) will give a negative value. When it’s assigned to the unsigned char, what will delta_time be? Will it be 0? Also, why is last_time being incremented by delta_time rather than just being assigned the current (soon to become previous) value of TCNT2? Incrementing last_time by delta_time will keep raising it, above 255 eventually, and then doing TCNT2 - last time will keep giving negative values.

Hope someone can clear my confusions. Thanks

Hello,
Good question. But as the comment says, an unsigned char cannot be negative. If you set delta_time equal to “3 - 250”, the value it gets is 9. So time and last_time will keep going up and up!

By the way, be very careful with implicit casting - you can easily get into big trouble by doing something like

if(x < b - a)

when x, a, and b are all different types, some signed and some unsigned. Always add the explicit casts when you are unsure to make sure you are doing the computation the way you want it.

-Paul

Hello.