Dealing with the Orangutan's female ports

All the headers (except for power) on the Orangutan board are female. Other boards I’ve dealt with (including some of Pololu’s, like the servo controller) use male headers. So I find myself with a bunch of sensors and effectors that already have female headers on the ends of their cables, and no good way to connect them to the Pololu board.

Does anyone know of an adapter that would let me join two female connectors? I imagine this would look something lie a bare male header, but with long pins on both ends. I could do this with a couple of short solid-core wires, but I don’t think it would be very reliable.

Barring that, what do y’all recommend? Should I try to desolder the female headers on the board and replace them with male ones? (Note that I’m not too experienced with desoldering.) Or just cut the connectors off of all my peripherals and replace them with male ones? Or some other clever solution I haven’t thought of?

Thanks,
- Joe

I know there is such a thing as male headers that are long on both sides (extra long on one so that the pins sticking out of the board on both sides are fairly equivalent), but I would go for the desoldering solution.

I actually like the female headers, since I use my big Orangutan mostly for quick testing, and I can press breadboard wires right into them. When I’m actually integrating a micro into something, it’s usually a baby orangutan, or an AVR I put on its own board.

-Adam

I use the extra long male headers when I’m plugging servos into the Orangutan. It does work, but it’s not something I’d throw into a robot and plop into an arena. It’s a shaky connection.

All my other sensors I went ahead and stuck male headers on them so they can plug right in.

Adam, it’s good to know I’m not the only one plugging breadboard wires into my Orangutan. It really is handy for that.