DC Motor or Stepper Motor

Hello guys,

For my current project I want to make an automatic drawer unit. There are a couple of ways to do this I guess, but I think the cheapest way is to do it with a motor. Since I am a bit new to electrical motors I have some questions regarding which motor to use for my project.

3 drawer sliders with each approximately 15 - 20 kg of weight. The total extended lenght is around 29 inch. The drawer needs to be extended by a motor and hold its position at the very end of the slide and the very beginning.

1. Use a DC Motor with (industrial) limit switches on both sides; will the motor hold at the 2 positions? Or is the holding torque almost nothing?

2. Use a Nema17 Stepper motor, driver and an Arduino RAMPS to program the beginning and end position? Is is posibble to read inputs with this? So if I puss a button; the drawer will extend or vice versa? I guess also for this I a need one limit switch to define its zero position? The holding torque is much higher than the DC motor?

3. Servo Motor, but this one will only rotate 180 degrees on both direction right?

Hello.

1. DC motors do not have a holding torque. However, you might consider implementing something like a worm gear to prevent backdriving.

2. It is not possible to read the position of a stepper motor without an additional sensor like an encoder. However, since a stepper motor has to actually be given a signal to take each step (usually with a driver and microcontroller) you could just keep track of all the steps it takes. Like you said, you can also use limit switches to determine when it reaches the ends (which could be used to calibrate position). Stepper motors generally do not have a lot of torque, so if you choose to use stepper motors, you should make sure that the motor has enough torque for your application.