Data output question

Hi,
I am kind of new to this. I have a robot made up from Oranguton X2 with VNH2. Its a quite simple target seeking robot, while it avoids obstacles. There are some variables in the program that I want to see the values of. I have a couple of questions.

1. What is the easiest way to see how did the values of those variables change, after robot completed its task.
  2. Is there a way to see the values of those variable changing “live” during robot is running.

Any kind of suggestions will be highly appreciated.

Hello.

I can think of several potential solutions:

1. The easiest approach would probably be to use the LCD to display the data you’re interested in. You could have the X2 log the variable values over time and write that log entry by entry to the LCD as you push one of the user pushbuttons once the robot is finished.

2. If you can keep the robot tethered, you could stream the variable values to your computer via the X2’s USB connection and monitor them with a terminal program (e.g. hyperterm). A USB connection to your PC could restrict your robot in a way that interferes with the tasks it’s trying to perform, however.

3. Buy a wireless serial module (e.g. XBee) and use it to stream data from your X2 to your PC wirelessly as the robot runs.

4. Buy an in-circuit debugger/emulator and monitor/manipulate your program as it runs using the mega644’s JTAG interface.

- Ben

Thanks for your reply. Actually I want to save the values of those variables (intermittently), so at the end I could plot a graph of how those values changed during that time, to put those graph up in my paper.
Besides those buying solutions you mentioned, is there a way that I could store values in some array or something, and in the end download that array somehow? (though I am not sure how would that be possible)