Controlling Maesto from Excel (VBA)

Hello,

I am new to this matter of robotics and modern RC-controllers. I want to control a servo from Excel with VBA. But I did not find any example how to do. I think I need a USB-Serial-DLL. Or something other. And I need the VBA-commands to use it. My Maestro works under W10 with the included control-interface. Therefore its is all ok on the hardwareside. But the controlling from Excel is my problem. I have written Excel-scripts for reading digital-voltmeters years ago under WIN-XP. But this was on real RS232-COM with rsapi. Can anyone help me please. Please use simple english speeking that google translator will understand.

Hello.

Why do you want to control your Maestro from Excel?

You probably would need to install some module that uses the Windows API to communicate with the Maestro’s Command Port. If you are building a user form, you could try using the Microsoft Communication Control component to add serial port control. Once you implement serial support in Excel, you should be able to send commands from your macro(s) to the Maestro. If you do not already know, you can find all the serial commands available for the Maestro under the “Serial Servo Commands” section and “Serial Script Commands” section in the Maestro’s user’s guide.

- Amanda

Hello,

I know, that I need a “modul” for serial USB-communkation. But I don’t know what to take for a USB-Connection. Therefore my special question.

The commands are not the problem. I hoped, that anybody has a little EXCEL-example how to do.
I found a lot of examples in different programming languages. But not for VBA