Controlling a relay using a Mini Maestro

Hello,

I am a beginner in the field of electronics. I am looking for a way to control a relay using a Mini Maestro 12-channel USB controller. I’ve read relevant information written by a Pololu employee (David Grayson) at stackoverflow.com/questions/3246 … ch-via-usb

As David said, I set a channel to be a digital output on Maestro Control Center. A mini-B USB port is connected to my PC. A relay is connected to Channel 0. A group of batteries (a total of 6V) is connected to Servo Power. Serial Mode is set at USB Dual Port. With this setup, the relay is turned on but I cannot turn it off from Maestro Control Center. Indeed, the relay is turned on even after unplugging the mini-B USB.

Will someone help me?

Hello.

I am sorry you are having problems using your Maestro. It is not clear if you are using our relay carrier. Are you using our carrier? How are you trying to turn on and off the relay in the Maestro Control Center? Could you post pictures of your setup that shows all the connections? Could you also post screenshots of the “Status” tab of the Maestro Control Center when you are sending a low and a high signal on channel 0?

- Jeremy

Hi Jeremy,

Please take a look at the pictures attached on this and next messages.

Hi Jeremy,

I am not using your relay carrier. It’s a relay I got at a local store (946H-1C-5D) and it does not have a carrier. I am going to use a different type of relay (Solid-state relay) in my project but for now I am using the 946H-1C-5D relay just to learn how things work because I am a beginner in electronics.

With the current connections, the relay turns on when I turn on the switch on the battery pack (a total of 6V). But I do not have control over the relay from Maestro Control Center.

Thanks,
Jack777

Hello, Jack777.