Controlling a rc vechicle via USB

Hi,

Sorry if this is a question with an obvious answer, but I’ve never done something like this before and I would really appreciate some pointers in the right direction!

I am creating a remote controlled tracked vehicle that will use 2 independent drive DC motors connected via a speed controller to a Micro Maestro 6-channel USB Servo Controller. I also have 3 servos on the vehicle, which I intend on controlling using the same control board. These servos control a raiseable boom, and a pan and tilt control for an on-board camera.

I would like to control the vehicle and the servos from a laptop computer, using the arrow keys to control the forward, backward left and right movements of the vehicle, and other keyboard keys to control the servos. The vehicle will always be connected to the USB cable.

Is this possible? And if it is, would you be able to point me in the right direction as I don’t really know where to start! I have done some computer programming before but my knowledge is limited. However, I am keen to learn!

Thanks in advance for any help and advice!

Hello,