Concept; 3-way mobile joint

Greetings,

Firstly, I want to say that I’m not a mechanic engineer, so please excuse the lack of my mechanical/electronic experience.
I’m working on a design competition project which includes the need to move a “blue object” in 3 directions, as seen on image below;

Is there a way to enable such movement in a joint represented with a “red sphere” as on image above!?
If yes, how? I think an existing example with some technical illustrations would help me a lot. I don’t need detailed plans, or electronic shemes, just the mechanical principle.
Any ideas?
Links maybe?

Thanky you,

estu.

A three degree of freedom rotational joint with all three axes of rotation crossing at a point is typically called a spherical wrist. They’re common on the end of 6DOF robot arms, and there are LOTS of different ways of actuating them. Unfortunately they’re mostly proprietary designs made by big companies who don’t like putting their schematics online!

By far the easiest way to go is to build three perpendicular rotational joints with very short links between them, which isn’t really spherical at all as the joint axes don’t intersect, but would let you rotate the blue disk in all three axes with a little unwanted translation as well:

You can probably buy hobby servo pan/tilt/roll mechanisms like this, ServoCity.com already has pan and tilt modules, and a roll category “Coming Soon”.

To actually have the joints cross at a point you would typically build some sort of gimbal mechanism to keep the parts out of each other’s way, like that space-camp gyro-nauseator ride:

This is how spherical wrists on robot arms usually work.