Clock/Blinking Light Circuit

I have a small actuator that operates butterfly wings.

I am a programmer, and they work wonderfully powered by a Pi. This is over kill, and too big for the mobile application it is needed on.

I have found a blinking light circuit that accomplishes what I need, but now I need the blinking around 0.5-0.25Hz. I do not know this math.

Can Pololu help me with this task?

Hello.

Are you using any of our products? Can you share the blinking light circuit you are referring to?

- Patrick

Not yet. If this is something Pololu can help with, I will put the products on will-call and drive down there immediately.
Diagram
But this application only needs 1 side, and it is a motor.
Example

Unfortunately, our products would probably not be useful for making an astable multivibrator, somewhere like DigiKey or even Amazon would probably be a better place to look. My suggestion would be to learn as much about how the circuit works as you can, and then get some kits with a range of capacitors and resistors so that you could try putting parts with different values in the circuits to see what works. By the way, except for the LEDs, you will still need to make the entire circuit for the astable multivibrator to work.

Another approach you might consider is just using a smaller microcontroller to direct your motor. For example, you might consider one of our A-Star programmable controllers. There are versions that measure as small as 1″ × 0.6″, and they can be programmed using the Arduino IDE which there are a ton of online resources for. If you do not already have one, we also have several small motor driver carriers.

- Patrick

Can the micro controller be battery powered, and can the output be ~1.5V? If that’s the case, I’m much better at programming.