Charger recommendation?

I’m ready to order a 3pi, but am wondering what sort of battery charger I need. Any recommendations? The more specific the better; I’m new to robotics and have never even visited a hobby/rc store!

BTW, it would be really nice if Pololu sold a suitable charger, perhaps in a combination deal with a 3pi, programmer, batteries and charger. It would be nice to just open the box and have everything I need to get started.

H.

Hello,

I haven’t used this one in particular, but it looks like it should be nice:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXTSA4&P=ML

The features you want are ability to charge 4 NiMH cells in series (they are usually in battery packs, not in battery holders like on the 3pi) and to be powered by AC (a wall outlet). In general, having more flexibility (1-8 cells in the example I linked to) is nice for future projects.

Also, since the 3pi just uses ordinary AAA batteries, you can buy battery chargers (into which you stick the batteries) at most general electronics stores. For example, I saw this at the Radio Shack web site:

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2350305&cp=&sr=1&kw=battery+charger&origkw=battery+charger&parentPage=search

The small downside to a charger like that is that you have to remove the batteries from the 3pi to charge them.

Thanks for the feedback about getting chargers. We’re on the lookout for something appropriate, but it’s difficult for us to sell things competitively when you can get them at Costco or Best Buy.

- Jan

Thanks for the quick reply, Jan. I had considered the out-of-circuit charger but would not want to have to remove the batteries each time. It looks like the LCD needs to be removed to get to the batteries, and I’d be concerned about a connection failure after a while.

It looks like this particular charger has spring-loaded terminals, so I’d need to make up a cable to connect it to the 3pi. What sort of connector would I need for that?