Can't communicate between PC & 3pi with AVR Programmer

I’m not a computer person and don’t totally understand - but have followed instructions & have AtmelStudio 6 up and running & have followed getting the 3pi_app2 build solution without errors (F7) . But when try F5 to load program onto 3pi I keep getting following: [ERROR] Could not establish communication with the tool., ModuleName: TCF (TCF command: Tool: connect failed.)

I’m on Windows 7.

I have a green led on programmer - solid green - and an amber blinking led. 3pi is on & I have run the demo program and everything works great.

I just don’t know if it’s a COM port problem or what. I don’t understand even how I would change that if it were a problem. Sorry. I tried to follow trouble shooting, etc. but get lost and don’t know where to go from here.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as this is all new to me. I’m not a computer expert by any means!

Thanks so much!

Chuck

Hello, Chuck.

I am sorry you are having trouble. Could you please post a screenshot of your Device Manager with the Ports (COM & LPT) section expanded? This will let us see what COM port the programmer is assigned to. You can use the “Upload Attachment” tab, which is visible below the “Submit” button when you are writing your reply to attach the screenshot.

Are you sure that was the entire error message? Are there any relevant lines of text before or after the line you posted?

–David

Thanks David - I really appreciate your help with this.

It looks like its COM4 - and I’m not sure, but I think AtmelStudio 6 is defaulting to COM3 - but not sure.

Here’s the screen shot - I think this is what you asked for, but not sure.

Yes, I’m pretty sure the error message is the only message - it appears at bottom of AtmelStudio page each time I try to load program onto the 3pi - but that’s all I think. Sorry for the trouble.