Can you help me with my project?

Hello!

I want to be able to create a robot/doll/toy that I can send SMS text messages to and have it speak the messages out loud. If possible, I would also like it to be able to perform actions such as arm movements and head movements, but this isn’t necessary. This project is for one of my classes at school (Design and Technology). I don’t have any experience in robotics or electronics, but I’m a quick learner and I’m very interested in completing this project. I have basic experience with programming in batch, and very basic experience with java programming. I don’t have any equipment or hardware for this project.

Your advice would be very helpful and much appreciated on the following questions:

1. Approximately how many hours of work would be required to complete this project (with and without the ability to perform arm/head movements), considering that I’m starting from scratch?
  2. Who could I talk to about the project regarding the required hardware, software and skills, and how to acquire them?
  3. Where could I go to learn/study about how to create this project, or be mentored?
  4. Are you aware of any existing projects that have done something similar? Where could I go to find more information about them?

I’m willing to offer to pay someone to mentor me as well. If you need any more information to provide me with an accurate estimation of the required time, or to answer any of my other questions, feel free to ask!

Some more information that may be useful:

I’m based in Australia, doing the HSC Design and Technology course.
I have around 28 weeks left to complete this project, and I get ~5 hours of time to complete the project per week, so that comes to a total of 140 hours.

With this new information in mind, could you please give me your opinion as to whether or not you think I will be able to complete this project in time?