Building a robot on the Wild Thumper 4WD platform

Hello,
As the topic title states, I am looking to build a robot for several projects.

I am a beginner into electronics, robotics and programming them but I am very keen to learn. First of, I am a college student so the robot will be used for some various upcoming projects, with the final goal for it to be used for my upcoming diploma project (in about 2yrs).

I did a bit of research and for a robot chassis I ended up choosing the Wild Thumper 4WD because it seems to be a very popular platform and has alot of support. I am abit confused about the other parts required tho. I know that I will need a motor controller, a micro controller (Arduino or RaspberryPi), a LiPo battery pack and a RC Tx/Rx.
The plan is to make some sort of semi-autonomous robot, that can be run in a few modes (not sure if all is possible):

1. autonomous mode, the robot drives itself and learns certain paths in a tube/maze system.
  2. the robot is driven by a user via remote (RC or bluetooth or internet) and if the remote connection gets cut off it enters autonomous mode automatically( maybe to return to starting point or some sort of pre learned gps coordinates?).

My main concern, atleast for now is the motor controller. and the ones that are available for me to buy (in Romania).
For Pololu motor controllers I ca buy only these:

1. POLOLU SIMPLE HIGH-POWER MOTOR CONTROLLER 24V12
  • 12A might not be enough.
  1. POLOLU ROBOCLAW 2X15A (V5D)
  • kinda expensive
  1. POLOLU DUAL G2 HP MOTOR DRIVER 18V22 (Arduino or Rpi version)
  • these look pretty good
  • good price
  • no I2C interface ??? (that’s a Con i think)
  • only con I can see is that they limit the platform I can use them on ???
    4.POLOLU DUAL G2 HP MOTOR DRIVER 18V18
  • like 3rd variant but cheaper
  • only 18A but it should be enough ???
  1. The Dagu T’rex Motor Controller - http://www.dagurobot.com/goods.php?id=135
  • moderate - to high price