Best way to control 600+ stepper motors

Hello, my name is Paul and I am new to Pololu. I have purchased 2 Maestros 24 and I like them, however I really want to control say 600+ stepper motors, individually or all at once with no delay from the first to the last one.

I dont believe the Maestros can drive a stepper motors and I guess the TIC controllers as Brandon mentioned in another post could be an option, but is there a way to daisy chain them somehow so that you can use one arduino or raspberry?

Regards,

Paul

Hello, Paul.

Yes, similarly to the Maestro, you can daisy-chain multiple Tic controllers together using the TTL serial interface. You can find information about that in the “Setting up serial control” section of the Tic user’s guide. Please note that if you need to receive data back from the Tics, you will need to AND all of the returning TX signals together before connecting them to the RX pin on your main controller.

You might consider the I2C interface instead, which does not require the AND gates. However, the I2C address is 7-bits, so you can only have 127 unique addresses (whereas with serial you can use the optional 14-bit device number to independently address more units). You can find information in the “Setting up I2C control” section of the same user’s guide.

If you need to independently control all of the stepper motors, you would need one Tic for each one. If you do not need independent control of all of them, you might be able to cut down on the number of Tics required by connecting multiple motors in series or parallel to each one, but if you are not familiar with how these setups work, I recommend researching it first to make sure you configure it properly.