Beginner: Motorised Camera Pan and Tilt

Hi,

I’m new at this, and need some help getting started on my project. I have done a lot of programming before, but nothing like this.

I would like to build the following:

A small unit that can pan and tilt my camcorder (350 grams).
It should fit on top of my tripod and fit in a 1.0" pipe. ( I know… tiny)
I should be able to have wireless control (via remote control or wifi or Bluetooth ect)
It should be able to program it. ( Eksampel: if I press “1” on the remote control then turn left 5° at x speed and 3° up at y speed)
Run on batteries

How do I get started? Can I use the “Baby Orangutan B-168 robot controller” as my core? What motor(s) should I choose?

Thank you for any and all help!

Sounds neat, and it would be easy to do with hobby servo motors if you could relax one of your requirements, either the camera weight or the pipe diameter. I’m guessing your camera isn’t going to magically get any lighter, but servo motors that can fit in a 1" pipe aren’t very powerful.

There are lots of different ways to go here though, so it’s time to answer your question with a bunch of mine:

-Does the motorized pan-tilt mechanism have to fit in a 1" pipe, or just the electronics? After all, the 350 gram camera can’t fit in a pipe anyway (or can it?).

-Do you want absolute position control (i.e. turn to 30 degrees from straight ahead and 25 degrees up from horizontal) or just relative position control (i.e. turn left a little and up a little)?

-Do you really need speed control, or just to be able to get where you want it to point?

-What sort of budget are you planning on?

And just out of general curiosity, could you tell us a little more about your project?