Basic communication question, multiple wixels (same channel)

Hello!

I’m trying to create a wireless mesh network using wixel boards (including a server/master and multiple repeaters and clients/slaves on the same channel without allowing any CRC errors).
I’ve thought about a way of realizing the communication using a protocol.
A packet would consist in a long string (~100-200 char long: e.g. some_stuff|wixel_sn1:wixel_sn2:…:wixel_snX|other_stuff).
I studied the sample applications, and if i understood correctly from the wireless_adc_tx app, i will have to use the radioQueueTxSendPacket() function which depends on RADIO_QUEUE_PAYLOAD_SIZE (=19).
Can i change this value up to 255 without having any issue, or the given string needs to be dismembered to 18 character sized packets?
I’d like to ask for the easiest way of sending this kind of information between two wixels (maybe a small code snippet transferring a longer character array).

Any advice would be appreciated!
Thanks in advance.

Hello. Yes, you can just change RADIO_QUEUE_PAYLOAD_SIZE in radio_queue.h to allow bigger packets. There are some limitations and tradeoffs to be aware of:

• The PKTLEN register is an 8-bit register so there is no way to have packets longer than 255 bytes.
  • radio_queue.c reserves RAM memory for 19 packets (3 RX, 16 TX) so increasing the packet size without changing the number of packets could take up all of your RAM.
  • Longer packets will probably be lost more often due to noise, and on-air collisions become more likely.

If you were thinking of encoding the Wixel serial numbers as a ASCII strings, I recommend against it because it will make the packet unnecessarily long; each serial number only needs 4 bytes.

–David

I have a question on this topic.
I was wonder if you can split the load receiving and sending, something like Hughes net uses. They use 2 satellites to communicate to the internet. This will be the same principle for the wixel network.