BabyO 328 and MigaMotors NanoMuscle

I am working on a small walking robot using two nanomuscle SMA actuators. They require 3.5-4V and anywhere from 410-470mA. I have an extra BabyO board that I had a “soldering” accident when connecting header sockets for the power connection so I am not sure if I damaged the regulator but I can program it just fine and both motor drivers work. However when I connect the two of the NanoMuscle70 linear actuators, they start to contract and expand and then one starts to fail and the motor driver chip get very hot.

From what I can tell, I should be able to drive these with this board and I am doing so using this test code from the resource section as seen below. I am not using PWM as I just need the motor ports to basically turn on and off.

Here is the code I am using and I admit I am not that experienced with C. Any thoughts are appreciated. I am trying to rule out a faulty board versus an unacceptable code/actuator combination.

#include <avr/io.h>

// use Data Direction Registers (DDRx) to
// set the four motor control pins as outputs

void motors_init()
{
DDRD |= (1 << PORTD3) | (1 << PORTD5) | (1 << PORTD6);
DDRB |= (1 << PORTB3);
}
// Motor Initialization routine -- this function must be called
//  before you use any of the above functions

//Motor 1 Forward
void M1_forward()
{
PORTD &= ~(1 << PORTD5);    // drive pin PD5 low
PORTD |= (1 << PORTD6);    // drive pin PD6 high
}
//Motor 1 Brake Low
void M1_brake()
{
PORTD |= (1 << PORTD5) | (1 << PORTD6);    // drive pins PD5 and PD6 high
}

//Motor 2 Forward
void M2_forward()
{
PORTD &= ~(1 << PORTD3);    // drive pin PD3 low
PORTB |= (1 << PORTB3);    // drive pin PB3 high
}
//Motor 2 Brake Low
void M2_brake()
{
PORTD |= (1 << PORTD3);    // drive pin PD3 high
PORTB |= (1 << PORTB3);    // drive pin PB3 high
}
#define F_CPU 8000000  // system clock is 8 MHz
#include <util/delay.h>  // uses F_CPU to achieve us and ms delays

// delay for time_ms milliseconds by looping