Baby Orangutan and 25D motor ... advice appreciated

I’m new to robotics and am trying to design a robot that will perform step-function velocity and acceleration profiles while moving in a straight line, and also make precise turns while stopped. An arduino with the micro-metal gear motors, 42mm wheels and encoders has been a good learning platform. In addition to getting the hardware and electronics to work together with a PID algorithm for the speed control, I’m now understanding why step up and step down voltage regulators and an encoder with more steps per revolution may be necessary. I’m still hoping to keep the cost of the final design in the $100 - $150 range, so think I want to try out a baby Orangutan B-328 with the 25D metal gear motors and encoders (product #2284), but I have some questions.

1. The stall current on the motor is 2.2A, which is greater than the 1A continuous rating on the Orangutan’s motor channels. I’m guessing I’ll need to use current sensors to prevent the motors from stalling and burning out the controller. What’s the best algorithm for using the current information to decide when to shut things down? I would want to set the trigger to turn off after the current’s been over 1A for some period of time, but how far above 1A and for how long? Should I keep a running average of current readings?

I really don’t need the extra power of the 25D motor, just the better encoders. Is there a better motor/encoder (with > 1000 steps per revolution) match for the Orangutan?

1. This is a very basic question that will reveal how new I am. How would I best mount the baby Orangutan (or other PCB breakout boards) on a prototyping PCB like your item #330? Or is this not something I should be thinking of doing? If not, what’s the alternative?

2. Will the 25D motors mount on the round PCB chassis like the RRC01A or RRC04A? I’m willing to drill holes. If not, what would be a better choice? If so, which version is better?