AVR programmer with avrdude in linux

Hello, I’ve recently purchased one of these and am having trouble programming it/with it. I’m using avrdude and as a test, this command: avrdude -c avrispv2 -p atmega168 -P /dev/ttyACM0, Which results in this:

avrdude: stk500v2_command(): command failed
avrdude: stk500v2_command(): unknown status 0xc9
avrdude: stk500v2_program_enable(): cannot get connection status
avrdude: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.

avrdude done. Thank you.

running as root has the same result. I’m new to avr programming and this has been kicking my butt, so please help me.
In the case that it helps, I’m running arch linux x86_64 with the latest kernel

thank you.

Hello, mikhail.

I’m sorry you are having trouble.

What kind of AVR are you trying to program? How is it connected to the programmer? How is it powered?

–David

I’m trying to reprogram an iClicker. It has an Atmega8 processor, is connected with the cable that comes with the programmer and is powered by 3 AAA batteries.

Shouldn’t the command I used work even if the programmer is not connected to any other avr?

Hello mikhail.

What makes you think it should be possible to reprogram the iClicker? Is there a tutorial or manual you are following? The manufacturer may have disabled SPI programming in the fuse bits of the AVR; if that is the case you will need to replace the AVR or get a different kind of programmer. Also, the 6-pin header you found may or may not have the standard pins in it.