Automated rc heli

hello.

now i am just getting adventurous. I am pretty new to robotics, but have been a c++ developer for 6 years. I was wondering how hard you think it would be to automate the flying of my rc heli? I can fly this pretty well myself, but really like the idea of controlling it from my laptop. I would need to be able to override the controls myself if required, def for landing and take off. I think it would be really cool to plan the flight plan on my laptop however.

I know that you can buy electronics to autopilot a heli and i guess I would need to implement something like this. There are modules out there to measure tilt etc which would be a start. Then I need a microcontroller to develop the server pulses. I have a giro on the heli to deal with rotation. Maybe some wireless modules to tell the heli where to go etc.

I don’t want a complete answer:)) In fact I am not sure what I want. Somebody to tell me to calm down and implement some flashing lights probabily. Thanks anyway, if you do get carried away and provide a complete solution:))

I am looking forward to the answsers on this one!! Merry Christmas!!

Hello Tim,

Automating an RC helicopter would be a tough starter project so I would recommend something simpler like automating an RC car. If you choose to press forward with the helicopter anyway, I have some advice.

I don’t know much about wireless, but you are probably going to need a way to wirelessly communicate between your microcontroller and your computer. Various wireless protocols have different ranges, so you will need to know how far your helicopter will be flying.

Do you want to be able to control the flight plan while it is in the air? If you don’t, you can avoid wireless, and just have a solution where you use something like Pololu’s RC switch to turn on your pre-programmed automated flight plan while in the air.