Arduino / Multiple Maestro's

Hi,

Probably a stupid question but impossible to answer via google.

Can I connect multiple Maestro’s to my Arduino Mega?

I want to control several robotic arms that are each connected to a Maestro. Then I would like to control all those Maestro’s with one Arduino. Is it possible? Logically i think it is since you create SoftwareSerial objects to attach a Meastro to 2 pins on the Arduino to receive and transmit. So assume I can create several SoftwareSerial objects right? The amount of Maestro’s that I can connect will depend on the amount of pins available right? Or is there a work around?
The reason I ask is that each robot will have its own sequence of movements to follow but all of them will react to the one and the same sensor.

I see you can daisy chain these Maestro’s as well, but I find it very difficult to understand the documentation (sorry total newbie to the Maestro) and not the most advanced Arduino’er. I usually just need an image or Fritzing diagram to understand the connections, but can’t find one for the daisy chaining…

Any help or advice would be really helpful! Just want to make sure about everything before I start buying stuff.

Thanks
Nelmarie

Hello, Nelmarie.

Yes, it should be fine to connect multiple Maestros to your Arduino Mega.

Yes, you can use the SoftwareSerial library to create serial communication on other digital pins of your Arduino Mega to each of the Maestros and control them. You should look at the SoftwareSerial page for a list of the library’s limitations, which states that not all pins on the Arduino Mega support change interrupts and only one software serial port can receive data at a time (when declaring multiple software serial ports).