Arduino Mega, 60LED/m WS2812B with Pololu Library

Hello,

I am very new to addressable LEDs & Arduino’s and really need some assistance. Let me apologize in advance for my ignorance and also say thank you for any help provided. Here is my “dilemma”.

I have an Arduino Mega2560 running ver1.0.6 and the 60pixel/m WS2812B LED strip. I have managed to find various sketches online, like a simple strip test & Night Rider sketch, and have easily made them work with very few mods (pin_num, led_count, etc). I decided to give the Pololu library a try so I downloaded the “Arduino library for addressable RGB LED strips from Pololu”. I followed the instructions in the “Getting Started” section but all I get is tons of errors when trying to upload. I have tried all 4 of the included examples to no avail but the particular file I am referencing here is the LedStripGradient.

Here is the list of errors. I “think” I understand what they mean but don’t know what I am missing that would cause this. If this is supposed to be a working sketch, why would these variables not already be declared?

Arduino: 1.0.6 (Windows 7), Board: “Arduino Mega 2560 or Mega ADK”

LedStripGradient:13: error: expected constructor, destructor, or type conversion before '<' token
LedStripGradient:17: error: 'rgb_color' does not name a type
LedStripGradient.ino: In function 'void loop()':
LedStripGradient:30: error: 'colors' was not declared in this scope
LedStripGradient:30: error: 'rgb_color' was not declared in this scope
LedStripGradient:30: error: expected `;' before '{' token
LedStripGradient:34: error: 'ledStrip' was not declared in this scope
LedStripGradient:34: error: 'colors' was not declared in this scope

Here is the code for LedStripGradient:

/* LedStripGradient: Example Arduino sketch that shows
 * how to control an Addressable RGB LED Strip from Pololu.
 * To use this, you will need to plug an Addressable RGB LED
 * strip from Pololu into pin 12.  After uploading the sketch,