Advice on battery power supply for project: pi, arduino, 2 servos

Hi,

I am building a project which will run on battery power and am seeking advice on what specific supplies I should use.

The project consists of:

–Raspberry Pi 3 Model B
5V micro-USB
Recommended PSU current capacity: 2.5A
Max total USB peripheral current draw: 1.2A
Typical bare-board active current consumption: 400mA

which runs an

–Arduino Uno
5V USB
[or power jack, 7-12V]

which in turn runs

TWO servos
—HSR-2645CRH servo
Voltage range: 4.8 - 7.4 V

I am new to electronics but have the advice that the servos should be on a separate power source than the pi and the arduino, and that all parts (pi, arduino, servos, two batteries) should all have a common ground.

Do you have advice on what I should use to power this system? I would like it to run as long as possible–hopefully at least 6 hours and optimally 12 or more hours.

Thanks in advance!

Hello,

We do not have any specific advice for your battery packs, but you might find this blog post helpful in calculating your system’s needs for your 6-12 hour run time.

In general, we expect LiPo battery packs to be the best for high current draw applications, especially where light weight is preferred, but you might also consider a lead acid battery for that kind of extended run time.

It should be fine to run your system off of multiple power supplies as long as you have a common ground as you mentioned. Additionally, you might consider using voltage regulators connected to a single battery to get the different voltage level requirements of your devices.

-Derrill

Thanks!