Adding a switch to 32U4

Sorry for this being a total noob question…

I’ve used your Zumo For Arduino bots for years to teach an intro to programming & robotics class. Awesome product! They eventually wore out, so I’ve bought several of the 32U4 bots.

The kids can be rough on the bots, so I’m designing a cool-looking “cover” to protect the components & provide a handle for catching runaways. One of the things that frequently wore out on the old bots was the push button – it got a ton of use.

What I’d like to do is cover the existing buttons on the board and put a “disposable” button on my cover. I plan to solder some header pins to the top expansion holes for quick connect/disconnect of the button.

My question is this:
Your pinout says that Button A is on Arduino pin 14. To get my disposable button to work, do I connect to pin 14 & ground, or pin 14 & 5V?

Thanks!

Hello.

Just to be clear you are asking about adding buttons to the Zumo 32U4, not the Zumo Shield for Arduino, correct?

Either way, it it is always good to check the schematic before making a modification to either of these boards. We provide them on the product pages under the resources tab. Here is a link to the schematic for the Zumo 32U4.

If you want to add another Button A on the Zumo 32U4 that functions just like the button surface-mount button, then you can connect one side of the new button to pin 14 and the other side to GND through a 1kΩ resistor, just like the button shown in the schematic. (The resistor helps protect the pin from being shorted to GND if it is accidentally set to an output and the button is pressed.) However, the circuits for Button B and Button C are a little more complicated, so let me know if you want to try adding buttons for those.